napkin.

It finally happened. It really did. That moment, above all other moments that potentially might give me some hope.

And it was all thanks to a wedding and a napkin.

That’s right, a napkin.

You see I have the wonderful side job of being a DJ Assistant to a good friend of mine. I help lift a lot of crap, set up, take down, and stand there, keeping my DJ company. I also, however, end up talking to a lot of people throughout the night.

Yes, I am that person who lets people know that we cannot play the macarena, for the 100th time, because the bride has placed it on the “do not play list”. I am also the person who assures the drunk aunt or mother-in-law, that yes, in fact, we have already played that song by journey, and no I don’t think the bride will like it if we play it again.

I am then that person who also asks the bride if she will let us play that song again, and sometimes she is so drunk that she does not mind. I also am the person who gets approached by old men who mime whipping me and then request “the whip” song. I am that person who has to tell you that we won’t be able to play your request, or that your request is coming up, or do you like another song by that artist instead?

That has been my life on Saturdays for the past two summers, and it is always an interesting time.

However, last weekend, got a little bit more interesting.

We were working a smaller wedding in a sketchy nearby city in a sketchy neighborhood in a building that smelled of old, stale cigarette smoke. The floor was peeling and the bartenders would have greatly benefited from some lessons in customer service and basic manners (but I guess that’s a story (rant) for another time.)

As the wedding started, it became clear that the small wedding party had no idea what was going on, for the most part. I accepted my new role as usher with grace, and got everyone down the aisle successfully, mostly. The bride and groom said yes and exchanged vows and rings and kissed etc. etc. Everything was good.

I have had some odd requests at weddings but this guy was different. He was really bent on making the guests do a circle dance to celebrate the unity of his two friends. I worked with him and made it happen, even when the groom began giving my DJ friend “What the fuck” looks towards the end of the circle dance.

After the dance, I didn’t think I would see him again, but I did. He came up to me several times, his drunkeness heading towards wasted each time, his kindness radiating towards me. He asked me about what my necklace meant (it’s a horseshoe that was given to me when I was having a hard time and my friend thought I could use some luck) and if I was Irish. I am no more Irish than my cat is, but it was a good segway into some more conversation.

At the end of the night he came up to me and said he had really enjoyed meeting me and that maybe we could get some coffee sometime. I suggested that it might be a possibility and in my best flirty tone (which probably just sounded incredibly awkward) told him that I might end up coming to visit him at work sometime, he works in the mall nearby. That’s what I left it at.

He had other plans. I contemplated going up to him and asking him for his phone so I could put my number into it. I strongly considered it, but as I have had terrible luck with men lately, I sat there and pondered it until it was time to take down the equipment.

In the midst of it all, his friend came up to me and handed me a crumpled up napkin.

“I was told to give you this.” She told me, then smiled and walked away.

I opened it in the car later and my friend and I could not stop laughing.

He had given me his Facebook info and email address, no phone number.

“I was wondering if you would want to get coffee sometime. No expectations.”

That’s all it said. We got a good laugh out of it, stalked the shit out of him on Facebook and then I proceeded to add him as a friend.

By the next day, he had accepted my request. It’s been about 4 or 5 days, and that’s all that has happened. I don’t know what the next step will be, for me, and I don’t know if he will message me or anything. I don’t even know if I will message him. I really don’t even know if anything will come out of it. All I know is, whether we end up meeting for coffee, it’s nice to be noticed and to be flirted with.

And there aren’t many things that feel as nice as getting a message on a napkin.

One thought on “napkin.

  1. This is such a cute way to end a rant! 😀
    As you said, even if nothing comes out of it, the incident will always make you smile and feel good. At the end of the day, till nothing further happens, that’s all that matters! 🙂
    I’ll definitely be quoting this incident in my conversations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

