kitty.

Yesterday seemed just like any other ordinary Sunday. We thought we’d be snowed in, as the forecast claimed there would be over a foot of snow coming to the city.

There were maybe two inches on the ground when I woke up Sunday morning. I began to go stir crazy, seeing as we weren’t going to be stuck inside all weekend like we had originally thought.

I convinced my roommate to go shopping with me just to get us out of the house. We got burritos and came home to watch Friends, as usual.

I was just casually sitting on the couch and he comes flying downstairs and asks me “Is that Sharpie?”

We have two black cats in our house that look exactly alike except for their eyes. They are also very distinguishable because of their personalities.

“Yes, that’s Sharpie,” I tell him, confused. “Why?”

“I just found Kitty dead upstairs in the back of my closet.”

I didn’t even know what to say or do. Everyone has a different way that they handle death. I try to avoid it at all costs, even though it’s inevitably inevitable.

Eventually I found the courage to go upstairs to comfort him. He had been crying for a few minutes and was pretty devastated. I saw her and immediately burst into tears.

It’s not every day that you see a cat who looks just like your precious baby lying dead on the floor. I felt unimaginable pain for him and just kept saying “I am so sorry about Kitty. I am so sorry about Kitty.”

He said last night that he would bury her today. The ground is frozen here in New England, so I am not really sure how that’s going to work.

I freaked out all night, could barely sleep, and called my vet clinic today to make an appointment for Sharpie.

Kitty’s death was so sudden, so unexpected. She might have thrown up the other day, but because there are 4 animals in the house we didn’t know which one it had been. We are now assuming that it was her. That was the only sign, though.

She died peacefully (I hope) in the back of his closet all alone. It makes it even sadder for me that she didn’t alert him or any of the other pets that she was suffering and that she had to die all by herself.

Animals are more practical about death than humans, I suppose.

8 thoughts on “kitty.

  1. I have a kitty who died 4 years ago. It was so hard! I had him cremated and his ashes are in a kitty-shaped urn that sits on my desk. So I like to think that he’s still with us.

    • That’s a really creative idea for an urn. I’ll have to tell my roommate about that. He still doesn’t know what to do with the body. My vet charges $200 if you want the ashes back!! It’s a scam.

      Thank you for your continued support 🙂

  2. So very true that animals have a different approach in death, nonetheless something very real can be learned from observing such things. You have a great gift of expression in your words, as though you can see what you’re doing and how you feel at the time.Though a sad occurrence, it was a pleasure to read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

