time.

If you’re lost you can look and you will find me, time after time.
If you fall, I will catch you, I will be waiting. time after time.

Time can be our worst enemy. It can also be our best friend. When the bitterness, anguish, and desperation has passed, the biggest thing helping us get through it was time.

Oh, time. I absolutely despise you. You have screwed me over time and time again. We never seem to have had enough time. The time I should have joined him in the kayak or the time I should have held my tongue and bit my teeth and tried a little harder. The time I should have held you for days and days but you are gone now. The time I cannot get back.

The time that you and I sat on the beach talking until two a.m. and I should have just kissed you then and there. But I waited until I was hungover and I was so nervous and excited that I became nauseous.

The time I sent that text and I said things the wrong way and I can’t take it back now.

The time that you said that you need to be selfish and I didn’t respond in a timely manner because I didn’t have anything left to say. I care about you so much, maybe too much. For some reason, you made me fall for you and then left when things got harder and you started to have feelings for me, too. I had poured my heart out to you, begging you for chances over and over again, like a hopeless idiot.

The fact that I shouldn’t have to beg you for time with me. The fact that I waste time trying to make you happy when you can’t even make yourself happy. So why would you allow me to try and make you happy? All I have ever asked for is a little time. You aren’t even willing to try and give some time to anyone but yourself.

Time reminds me that I am alive. Even though it’s not endless, and that someday, I will not be here anymore, just like those before me and those that will follow me. I can choose to seize what time I do have left and let you go. Even if it’s the hardest thing I have to do.

Time can be on our side, if we let it be so.

2 thoughts on “time.

Leave a Reply

