admiration.

Today for Writing101 we are supposed to do a character study of an individual we met in 2014. Now this person I am going to write about I technically met in summer 2013, but since we just met that one time, as acquaintances, I am not going to count it… 

This person came into my life at a time when a friendship I had with another individual was failing. She reminds me how to just have fun and dance, without caring about anything other than being in the moment. I admire her strength to be present. She is always up to have a great time and is constantly expending herself for the sake of others, almost to a fault. 

I am glad I met this person. She is just as talkative as I am (if not more). She likes a lot of the same things that I like, but she also has her own unique tastes. She doesn’t try to be girly or a tomboy, she just is herself. She likes ballroom dancing. She rides motorcycles like a bad ass. She says awkward things, just like I do, and it makes me laugh. She’s clumsy, just like I am. We get along very well. 

Her curly hair is constantly in her way but she always manages to look good no matter how she wears it. She has a perfect little body, with freckles everywhere, skinny long legs, and smooth curves. She has a timid laugh but laughs often. She is not afraid to wear her emotions on her sleeves. 

I am glad that I have met her. I had forgotten what it felt like to have friendships that were normal. I had forgotten how it felt to trust someone automatically. I had forgotten what it was like to go out and dance all night, and not feel pressured to have a single drink. I had forgotten what it was like to not have a friend who uses you or insults you constantly. This person came into my life at the right moment and since that moment in February, I have forgotten what my life used to be like when she wasn’t around. 

I look forward to seeing her and what conversations we will have. I look forward to more adventures and crazy nights of dancing in the future. I have a friend that I can give advice to, and receive advice from. I have a friend who reminds me that I am a good person and deserve to be treated as such. I have a friend who will not judge me for my mistakes. I have a friend who wears tiny dresses under her motorcycle pants. 

I admire her strong spirit. I admire her courage to ride motorcycles. Honestly they scare the shit out of me. I am lucky to be able to call her my friend. I am lucky to be able to have a friend who I can talk to about my losses I have experienced and then who encourages me to move on. I am lucky to have been able to meet such a kindred spirit and have her as a part of my life. 

Leave a Reply

