possibility.

Wherever you are, wherever you’re going to end up, don’t forget that the challenges you are facing are important. Don’t let anyone let you think that your struggles are invalid. Each day is a blessing, and you should accept that. That is the first step. Accepting that you are beautiful in your own unique way. 

I can honestly say about three years ago I was going down a dangerous path. I was in a place that I never want to be a part of. I don’t ever want to return to the darkness that was surrounding me. If I get to that point again, someone slap me. It’s taking me years to get out of it. Years I should have spent in other ways, but I can’t go back and fix the past. I can only edit my future. 

This is my advice to you: if someone is hurting you, physically, emotionally, passively, verbally, whatever, get out. Just do it. You have the strength within you. I certainly did not think I was a strong person, but look how far I have come since I was trembling with fear and crying myself to sleep every night. I am who I am supposed to be. I don’t have a career path chosen yet, and I certainly have no love life whatsoever, but I am me. 

I was hiding behind a facade of something I could not control or understand. Once the facade gave me an opening, I seized all the possibility that was behind it, and pushed through it. I am still pushing, but there are fewer and fewer things pulling me back. 

When the sun is shining down on my face, when I am close to the ocean, when I can feel wind on my face, that’s when I know that I made the right decision. I no longer have a hard time getting up because I am unhappy. I have a hard time because sleep is enjoyable, and the nightmares are gone. I can get up and enjoy the small moments that provide me humor throughout my day, because my life is beginning to explode with possibility. 

One thought on “possibility.

  1. “… but I can’t go back and fix the past. I can only edit my future. “… it’s so good that you can realize this in your twenties! good for you for being willing to accept this part of your journey. i so enjoy your writing.

Leave a Reply

